Honour your father…

‭Ephesians 6:1-3 KJV‬ — Children, obey your parents in the Lord: for this is right. [2] Honour thy father and mother; which is the first commandment with promise; [3] that it may be well with thee, and thou mayest live long on the earth.

I exhort you to honour your father. When you are a child, you owe your father and mother obedience; it’s only right to obey your parents as a child; but when you grow; you must take responsibility for your life and choice but honour your father and mother.

At my age and status as a married man; I can’t obey my parents in all things but I must honour them in all ways. My parents can’t tell me how to spend my money but my spending must honour them. I don’t need my mother’s permission to pay my children’s fees or buy my spouse a present; but I must honor my father.

You must honour your father if;

1. You want to prosper:

It will be well with you when you honour your father. It will be well with you when you honour your father’s memory.

2. You want to live long:

This is the promise of God which can’t fail. Those who honour their fathers long longer. I pray that you will be able to honour your father and live long.

The simple ways to honour your father is:

1. Cover his nakedness and shame:

Canaan was cursed because Ham dishonoured his father’s nakedness. Ham mocked and shamed his father Noah. It is a dangerous thing to do. Never mock or dishonour your father.

2. Stay away from his wives and concubines.

Your father’s wife, side-chick, and mistress is not your friend; these women are your father’s extended nakedness. They may be young; they may be old; these are women related to your father; honour him.

Rueben missed blessing because he dishonoured his father’s bed. Absalom could never prove to Israel that he has rebelled against his father, other than sleep with his father’s comcubines in public.

3. Speak positively about your father

Even when you have to speak about your father’s mistakes; state it as lessons you have learnt.

4. Invite him to important functions and events of your life

Speak well of him and be thankful for very little things he has done for you.

5. Preserve his memory if he has passed to glory

You may organise lectures in his honour. If you even have to renovate his house; leave a trace of the relics of his memory. Quote your dad in speeches and poems. Preserve everything that reminds you of him. Tell his grandchildren about him.

Learn to honour your father and it shall be well with you.

Stay blessed

Author: Bishop Noah Simpe Bediako

I am a fiery faith preacher and presently the senior pastor of the HighCity Church World wide. I was originally trained as a civil engineer and hold a second degree from the KNUST/ I HEAR in water supply and environmental sanitation. I am married to Sandra and together we have Daniel, Judah and Michelle.

Leave a comment